Frequently Asked Questions


This page is intended to provide general information and is specific to the time when it is first issued. Please keep in mind that the OPB’s staff cannot provide you with legal advice.

If you wish to obtain legal advice, you should consult a person licensed by the Law Society of Upper Canada (www.lsuc.on.ca).

General

What is parole?

Parole is the early release of an applicant from a correctional institution into the community under the supervision of a Probation and Parole Officer. Parole is an opportunity for an applicant to serve the remainder of their sentence in the community under certain conditions.

Who is an applicant?

An applicant is the person who committed an offence and for whom parole is being considered. In other settings, applicants may be referred to as “offenders” or “inmates”.

What is temporary absence?

The Temporary Absence program allows an applicant to be away from the institution, without escort, for a defined period of time (up to sixty days).

Temporary absence is an opportunity for an applicant to prepare themselves for release into the community and may be granted to help the applicant with their rehabilitation and successful reintegration into the community or for medical or humanitarian reasons. Temporary absence can be requested without having applied for parole or after parole has been denied.

Who is a victim?

A victim is a person who suffers physical, financial or emotional harm as a result of an offence(s). If a victim is under 16 years of age, a parent or guardian can be considered a victim. If a victim is unable to present a statement at a parole hearing (for example: if they are deceased or sick) the following people may represent the victim:

  • Spouse or common law partner of the victim;
  • Family member of the victim;
  • Parent or guardian of the victim, or a dependant of the victim.
What is a parole hearing?

A parole hearing is a proceeding before the OPB to determine whether an applicant can safely be released from custody back into the community before the natural expiry of their custodial sentence. During the parole hearing, applicants are given an opportunity to tell the OPB why they should be granted parole.

For more information on parole hearings, please see OPB’s Applications and Hearings section here.

What is a circle hearing?

A Circle hearing is an alternative method to a mainstream parole hearing and is conducted with the same desired outcome, which is to determine if an applicant is suitable for reintegration within the community.

For more information on circle hearings, please see OPB’s Circle Hearings section here.

What is the purpose of a parole hearing?

The purpose of the hearing is to assist the OPB in determining whether parole should be granted by obtaining information directly from the applicant and other participants. If parole is denied, the applicant will be informed of the reasons parole was denied.

Are hearings open to the public?

Yes. Individuals who wish to attend a hearing as an observer must submit an Observer Application form to the OPB.

The number of observers allowed to attend a hearing will be based upon the size of the hearing room and the security concerns of the institution. Approval to attend will be granted in chronological order of application, with the victim, victim support person and applicant assistants being given priority.

For more information on attending a parole hearing, please see OPB’s Applications and Hearings section here.

Are decisions publicly available?

The OPB does not automatically make its decisions available to the public. A person who wants a parole decision must submit a freedom of information request to the OPB.

Applicants

When is an applicant eligible for parole?

An applicant is eligible for parole after completing one-third of their sentence. This is called the Parole Eligibility Date (PED). If an applicant is serving a sentence of six months or more, by law, they will automatically be scheduled for a parole hearing. If the applicant is serving a sentence of less than six months, they must apply if they want to be considered for parole.

For more information on parole eligibility, please see OPB’s Applications and Hearings section here.

Is parole guaranteed?

No. Parole is never guaranteed.

Where are parole hearings held?

Parole hearings take place inside correctional institutions where the applicant is serving their sentence. If the applicant waives their right to participate in a parole hearing, the OPB will consider all relevant information on file and make a decision from their office and will not attend the correctional institution.

When does the OPB make its decision?

The OPB may take a few days to come to a decision or it may make a decision immediately at the end of the hearing. Once a decision is made, applicants will receive the decision in writing immediately.

Victims

What is a Victim Submission?

Victims may provide a written submission or attend the applicant’s parole hearing and give an oral statement. Victims may, but are not required, to give an oral statement if they attend a parole hearing. Victims may also provide information to an OPB Case Management Officer who will ensure the OPB members receive the information before making a decision.

A victim submission is the victim’s opportunity to tell the OPB about the physical, financial and emotional impact the offence has had on them, their family, and their community.

For more information on victim support, please see OPB’s Victims of Crime section here.

What is the Ontario Victim Support Line?

In addition to reading the Victim Guide, victims can contact the Ministry of the Attorney General’s Ontario Victim Support Line to discuss a specific parole applicant. Victims can find out whether an applicant has a scheduled parole hearing or whether that applicant has been released. Victims may also call for information on local victim supports and services, or for general information on the criminal justice system.

ONTARIO VICITIM SUPPORT LINE:

Tel.: 416-314-2447

Toll Free Tel.: 1-888-579-2888

For more information on victim support, please see OPB’s Victims of Crime section here.

Foire aux questions


La présente page fournit des renseignements généraux qui s’appliquaient au moment de leur publication. Veuillez vous reporter aux lois utiles et aux Règles de procédure du Tribunal pour obtenir des renseignements faisant autorité. Veuillez noter que le personnel du Tribunal ne peut pas vous fournir des conseils juridiques.

Pour en obtenir, veuillez consulter une personne titulaire d’un permis du Barreau du Haut-Canada (www.lsuc.on.ca).

Généralités

Qu’entend-on par « libération conditionnelle »?

Il s’agit de la libération anticipée d’un demandeur sous la surveillance d’un agent de probation et de libération conditionnelle. Si elle est accordée, la libération conditionnelle permet au demandeur de purger le reste de sa peine dans la communauté, à certaines conditions.

Qu’entend-on par « libération conditionnelle »?

Il s’agit de la libération anticipée d’un demandeur sous la surveillance d’un agent de probation et de libération conditionnelle. Si elle est accordée, la libération conditionnelle permet au demandeur de purger le reste de sa peine dans la communauté, à certaines conditions.

Qu’entend-on par « demandeur »?

Il s’agit d’une personne ayant commis une infraction pour qui on envisage la libération conditionnelle. Dans d’autres contextes, on appelle cette personne un « délinquant » ou un « détenu ».

Qu’entend-on par « absence temporaire »?

Le Programme d’absence temporaire permet à un demandeur de sortir de l’établissement correctionnel sans surveillance pour une durée déterminée (60 jours maximum).

Une absence temporaire aide le demandeur à se préparer à une mise en liberté dans la communauté. Elle peut être autorisée pour faciliter le processus de réadaptation et assurer le succès de la réinsertion sociale, ou encore pour des raisons médicales ou humanitaires. Elle peut être demandée même si la libération conditionnelle, elle, ne l’a pas été ou a été refusée.

Qu’entend-on par « victime »?

Il s’agit d’une personne souffrant d’un mal physique, d’un préjudice financier ou d’un mal affectif attribuable à une ou des infractions. Si cette personne a moins de 16 ans, ses parents ou tuteurs peuvent aussi être considérés comme des victimes. Lorsqu’une victime ne peut faire de déclaration lors d’une audience de libération conditionnelle (par exemple, parce qu’elle est décédée ou malade), les personnes suivantes peuvent la représenter :

  • son conjoint ou conjoint de fait;
  • un membre de sa famille;
  • son père ou sa mère, son tuteur ou une personne à sa charge.
Qu’entend-on par « audience de libération conditionnelle »?

Il s’agit d’une audience devant la Commission ontarienne des libérations conditionnelles visant à déterminer s’il est sécuritaire de mettre un demandeur en liberté avant la fin de sa peine. Durant l’audience, le demandeur peut expliquer à la Commission pourquoi elle devrait lui accorder la libération conditionnelle.

Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, consultez la section « Demandes et audiences » de la Commission ici.

Qu’entend-on par « audience en cercle »?

L’audience en cercle, bien qu’elle se distingue de l’audience ordinaire de libération conditionnelle, vise un même objectif : déterminer si un demandeur est prêt pour la réinsertion sociale.

 

Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, consultez la section « Audiences en cercle » de la Commission ici.

À quoi sert une audience de libération conditionnelle?

L’audience de libération conditionnelle vise à obtenir des renseignements directement auprès du demandeur et des autres participants pour déterminer si la libération conditionnelle devrait être accordée. Si ce n’est pas le cas, le demandeur sera informé des motifs de la décision.

Les décisions sont-elles publiques?

La Commission ne rend pas automatiquement ses décisions publiques. Quiconque souhaite obtenir une décision doit d’abord lui présenter une demande d’accès à l’information.

Demandeurs

À quel moment un demandeur devient-il admissible à la libération conditionnelle?

Un demandeur devient admissible à la libération conditionnelle après avoir purgé un tiers de sa peine. C’est ce qu’on appelle la date d’admissibilité à la semi-liberté. La loi prévoit que si un demandeur purge une peine de six mois ou plus, il obtiendra automatiquement une audience de libération conditionnelle. En revanche, s’il purge une peine de moins de six mois, il devra présenter une demande de libération conditionnelle.

Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, consultez la section « Demandes et audiences » de la Commission ici.

La libération conditionnelle est-elle garantie?

Non. La libération conditionnelle n’est jamais garantie.

Où ont lieu les audiences de libération conditionnelle?

Les audiences ont lieu à l’établissement correctionnel où le demandeur purge sa peine. Si le demandeur renonce à son droit à une audience, la Commission examinera quand même toute l’information pertinente à son dossier et rendra une décision depuis ses locaux, sans se déplacer.

Quand la Commission rend-elle sa décision?

La Commission peut prendre un cas en délibéré pendant quelques jours, ou rendre son verdict dès la fin de l’audience. Le demandeur est informé de la décision par écrit dès qu’elle est prise.

Victimes

Qu’entend-on par « observation de la victime »?

La victime peut présenter des observations par écrit ou faire une déclaration orale à l’audience de libération conditionnelle du demandeur. Elle peut aussi fournir des renseignements à un agent de la gestion des cas de la Commission, qui les communiquera aux membres avant qu’ils ne prennent leur décision.

Cette déclaration permet à la victime de décrire les répercussions physiques, financières et affectives de l’infraction sur elle, sa famille et son milieu.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’aide aux victimes, consultez la section « Victimes d’actes criminels » de la Commission ici.

La Ligne d’aide aux victimes de l’Ontario, c’est quoi?

Pour obtenir de l’aide, les victimes peuvent consulter le guide à leur intention. Elles peuvent aussi appeler la Ligne d’aide aux victimes du ministère du Procureur général de l’Ontario pour se renseigner sur un demandeur en particulier, par exemple savoir s’il aura une audience de libération conditionnelle ou s’il a été mis en liberté. La Ligne est aussi une source d’information sur les services d’aide aux victimes locaux et le système de justice pénale en général.

LIGNE D’AIDE AUX VICTIMES DE L’ONTARIO

Téléphone : 416 314‑2447

Téléphone sans frais : 1 888 579‑2888

Pour en savoir plus sur l’aide aux victimes, consultez la section « Victimes d’actes criminels » de la Commission ici.